Frequently Asked Questions

  • I got a DWI. What do I need to do in order to get my license reinstated?
    • You must obtain a certificate of completion. A certificate of completion can be  obtained by:
      • Completing a substance abuse assessment at an authorized NC DWI Services provider, and
      • Completing the recommended level of treatment or education (ADETS) at an authorized NC DWI Services provider.
    • You must also wait for the revocation period imposed by DMV to be up and pay the required fees to the DMV and court system.
  • I need to complete an assessment for my DWI charge and then complete the recommended level of treatment or ADETS (education). Where do I go to do this?
    • You must complete your assessment and recommended treatment or education at an authorized DWI Services Provider.
    • You may choose any provider you like, regardless of location.
    • To schedule a DWI assessment with McLeod, please call 704-332-9001.
  • What is an E-508 form?
    • The E-508 form is the electronic form that is transmitted to the North Carolina DMV to show when an assessment and recommended education or treatment has been completed. Once the assessment and treatment have been approved, the hold on your Motor Vehicle Report (MVR) will be lifted. The state asks for 5- 10 business days to approve all E-508 forms.
  • What documents do I need to bring to the DWI assessment?
    • $100 for the state mandated DWI Assessment fee
    • A picture ID
    • A copy of the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), Refusal report, or Blood test report. To obtain a copy of these reports, please contact the Clerk of Court in the county where the DWI occurred.
    • ** You do not need to obtain a copy of your North Carolina driving history, we will get one for you.
  • How much will my DWI assessment cost?
    • $100 is the North Carolina state mandated fee.
  • I completed my assessment. How long can I wait before starting the recommended treatment or education?
    • A DWI assessment in North Carolina is valid for 180 days/6 months. After 6 months, the assessment expires and you will have to complete and pay for another assessment.
  • What requirements would I have to meet in order to be eligible to be referred to Alcohol and Drug Education Traffic School (ADETS) instead of treatment?
    • You have no previous DWI offense conviction in your lifetime, and
    • You did not refuse to submit a chemical test, and
    • Your BAC was 0.14% or less at the time of your arrest, and
    • Your assessment does not identify a substance use diagnosis
    • You meet the admission criteria for Level 0.5 (Early Intervention) of ASAM PC-2
  • If I don’t qualify for ADETS (education), what are the other levels of treatment that I could be recommended to complete?
    • Short Term Outpatient Treatment – (Minimum of 20 contact hours over a minimum of 30 days)
    • Longer Term Outpatient Treatment – (Minimum 40 contact hours over a minimum of 60 days)
    • Intensive Outpatient Treatment – (Minimum 90 hours over a minimum of 90 days)
    • Inpatient/Residential Treatment – (Combination of Inpatient and approved outpatient treatment over a minimum of 90 days)
  • How much does treatment cost?
    • Treatment costs are not mandated by statute, and thus vary from agency to agency.
    • There are a payment plans available at McLeod Center for your recommended DWI treatment.
    • McLeod Center Service Price List:
    • 20 Hour Program $360
    • 40 Hour Program $510
    • 90 Hour Program $3510 **If a client qualifies for this level of treatment, they may be able to apply for  county funding.
  • I completed my DWI assessment at another agency but would like to do my classes with McLeod Center. How do I sign up or register for classes?
    • Per state guidelines, you have the right to complete your recommended substance abuse treatment or education at any authorized NC DWI Service Provider. Please contact McLeod for further instruction on how to register for your class.
  • Will I have to complete ADETS (education) and treatment for the same conviction?
    • Your DWI assessment will recommend that you complete ADETS (education) or treatment.
  • Can I complete an online class for my DWI in North Carolina?
    • No. Per state guidelines, the assessment and classes must be conducted in person.
  • What happens if I am under 21 years old and receive a North Carolina DWI/Underage DWI charge?
    • In the state of North Carolina it is illegal to drink under the age of 21 years old. Even if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was under the legal limit you will still need to complete the assessment and any recommended education or treatment in order to have your license reinstated.
  • Do my past DWI convictions effect my DWI assessment?
    • Prior DWI convictions will exclude you from the lowest education recommendation of ADETS. A current DWI assessment is needed in order to determine which level of treatment you would qualify for.
  • I have multiple DWI holds on my Motor Vehicle Report. Will I need multiple assessments?
    • Per state guidelines, it is $100 for the DWI assessment. If you have multiple charges you will need to pay $100 per charge that is a hold on your license. Multiple assessments are usually not necessary except for documentation purposes. You will only need to complete one treatment recommendation to cover all of the DWI charges.
  • I live in another state, but was convicted of a DWI in North Carolina. What must I do to clear the block off my license from North Carolina?
    • You must complete a substance abuse assessment, substance abuse education, and/or substance abuse treatment in your state (outside of North Carolina).
    • Documentation of the out-of-state assessment, treatment, and/or education must be reviewed and approved by an authorized North Carolina DWI services provider.
    • An authorized North Carolina DWI services provider can be found at this link: https://www.ncdhhs.gov/assistance/mental-health-substance-abuse/driving-while-impaired
    • On the home page, click on “Provider Database,” and choose any provider that is listed as providing “Out of State Review.”
    • Note: As there is no mandated fee for out-of-state reviews, the fee may differ among providers. Any authorized DWI service provider in North Carolina can be selected to do the “Out of State Review,” regardless of the location of the provider.
    • The authorized North Carolina DWI provider will complete the review, process the information, and complete a Certificate of Completion (e-508 form) in order to resolve the outstanding DWI offense on your North Carolina record. (You should receive a copy of the certificate).
  • I completed a program while I was in the military or while I was incarcerated. May the program/services be used to meet my requirements?
    • It depends on the content of the program/services.
    • Contact McLeod Center staff to conduct a review of the program/services that you completed.
    • A DWI Assessment must be completed to determine if the completed treatment is sufficient or to determine if other services may be needed.
    • If the content of the program/services are deemed appropriate, McLeod Center will generate the Certificate of Completion (508-R Form) that is required by DMV to lift the “block” off of your license.
  • I received a Driving While License Revoked conviction while I was suspended due to a DWI conviction. Does this conviction require another assessment?
    • Yes. An assessment is required through an authorized DWI Service provider.
    • Depending on the results of the assessment, you may be required to complete more treatment.
  • I am having difficulty working with my provider. Is there a phone number I can call or web site where I can get more information?